Motivation

Each morning I wake up and my first thought is, “Are you going to exercise today?” Most mornings I find that I have to motivate myself to exercise. I have to focus my thinking on the benefits of exercising. Thinking of the benefits helps me to prepare for the work I want to do. When I think about all the other things I have to accomplish in the day, I can quickly talk myself out of exercising.

When I think about reading and teaching children to read, I wonder about how motivation is used to help prepare children for the work to be done while reading.

When reading, many times I find myself thinking about an issue that is in the forefront of my mind rather than thinking about the text I’m reading. Sometimes I find myself noticing connections related to my thinking rather than to the intended meaning of the text. When this happens, am I truly reading? Knowing that the brain is a pattern detector, (it is seeking stimulus that is similar to the current thinking) the brain is scanning the stimuli it is receiving to make connections to what it is focusing on. In other words, when reading the brain is scanning the information received from the text and trying to connect the information to what the brain is thinking about.

When planning lessons, motivation is seen as a way to get students hooked on the lesson, a way to get students interested and engaged in the learning. However, what happens is that teachers plan elaborate activities that take away from the intentions of the lesson. Many times the motivation activity is not even directly connected to the lesson’s focus.

Motivation would be most effective if used as a way to prepare the brain for the work (thinking) it is about to do. This makes a lot of sense to me since reading is about making sense of text, which requires the reader to think about the text being read. In order for the brain to focus on the meaning of the text, the brain has to be ready to pick up on the clues that will support the readers understanding. Preparing the brain allows the brain to know what patterns to look for since the brain is a pattern detector. Without preparing the brain for the work necessary for reading the brain self selects from the many streams of thoughts, which one to focus on, ignoring anything that is not related to the chosen focus.

Viewing motivation as a way to prepare the brain for the work of reading will allow the reader to read text in a way that will support deep understanding. It will allow the reader to seek clues from within the corners of the text rather than from the streams of thoughts that occur when the brain has not been prepared for the kinds of clues is should be seeking.

So think about motivation in a reading lesson as a way to prepare the brain for the thinking it will need to do to make sense of the text. Motivation should be just enough information to awaken the brain but not overwhelm it. Motivation should provide essential information necessary for focusing on the meaning of the text rather than an activity. Motivation should be quick-if it is too long the brain loses is curiosity and wonders about something else. Once the brain is awakened it is important to engage the brain in the work it has been prepared to do immediately.

What role does motivation play in your lessons?

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Meryl
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 19:06:16

    The first couple things you said about multi brain functions are true, but I feel that it’s because we are so used to a faceted train of thought that a true focus is a rarity. Too bad you didn’t have some kind of teacher-fairy that you could summon in order to motivate you to, for example, read an article in the newspaper; “Now Rhonda, I’d like you to think clearly about what you know about the presidential candidates so far, (activating prior knowledge) and then compare their views on healthcare. (Purpose for your read). Then perhaps a venn diagram would appear as a reminder of what you already knew so that you could process this new information and build upon the old. (tactile learning behavior). Hmmm..

    I love this topic of motivation. I also love the idea of motivation as a substantial part of a lesson, the springboard into the lesson, the invitation into the lesson. So, if it is also true that a motivator is what “gets the mind prepared for the lesson” then its relevance should be paramount. I think teachers have to figure out what works for them and then play upon that strength. I personally use storytelling as a motivator for many of my lessons. If I can hold rapt attention with a story (sometimes about a time when I was little, or something that just happened) I know their attentions can hold for a lesson. I have found that I do have to keep it short, I cannot allow the “oh, that happened to me” situations, and that the story has to play a relevant part as a model of what I would like them to do. Story listening behavior is also a precursor to working behavior and lends itself to a smooth transition into the next part of the lesson.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclosure Policy

This blog is a personal blog written and edited by me.

This blog does not accept any form of advertising, sponsorship, or paid insertions. I write for my own purposes. However, I may be influenced by my background, occupation, religion, political affiliation or experience.

The owner(s) of this blog is not compensated to provide opinion on products, services, websites and various other topics. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are purely the blog owners. If I claim or appear to be an expert on a certain topic or product or service area, I will only endorse products or services that I believe, based on my expertise, are worthy of such endorsement. Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider.

The owner(s) of this blog would like to disclose the following existing relationships. These are companies, organizations or individuals that may have a significant impact on the content of this blog. I am employed by or consult with: East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania, Developmental Studies Center, Northeastern Pennsylvania Reading and Writing Project.

To get your own policy, go to http://www.disclosurepolicy.org

